Elections & Voting

Current Election

In 1998 Oregonians chose to vote by mail. Ballots can be mailed back to the County Clerk in the provided envelope or dropped in one of the Official Ballot Drop boxes located at the County Courthouse on 5th Street, and at the Maupin Civic Center Payments Drop Slot.

Voters are advised to used the drop boxes If they have not mailed a ballot by Friday before the election.

To learn more about how the process is operated and secured click here.

How do I register? Click here.

How do I check my registration? Click here.


Stay tuned for the 2024 Primary

Register to Vote

Registering to vote in Oregon is easy and there are many places and opportunities to do so, in person at the County Clerk’s office or online, click here.

Republican voter drives at community events and personal help can be provided by the Wasco GOP Central Committee. We can help you complete a form and file it. Get in touch with us here.

In addition to voting by mail, the legislature enacted the Oregon Motor Voter system. It provides automatic voter registration when you apply for your original, renewal or replacement license, permit or ID card at the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). If you visit the DMV and your voter registration is addressed, but sure to confirm your Republican Party affiliation.

How do I check or change my party registration?

The Secretary of State My Vote page allows registered voters to use their Driver’s License number to look up and edit their registration. You can change your address, contact information and Political Party on the SOS site here: https://sos.oregon.gov/voting/Pages/myvote.aspx?lang=en

If you are at the DMV, ask the clerk to look up and confirm your political party registration. Unintended registration as non-affiliated or Independent Party may occur if there is not a clear understanding between you and the clerk that you are affiliated with the Republican Party.

Can I vote for Republicans if I am not a Republican?

Yes! But only in a General Election. The major party primaries are available only to those affiliated with the party according to the political party they choose on their voter registration. Choosing to unaffiliate excludes you from making a candidate choice in the primary and gives your power away to a others to choose for you.

Current Elected Officials

Wasco County is represented by Republicans at all levels of government. They represent you so be confident about reaching out to them with questions, support, or direction in how to interact with your government. Wasco County Republicans support their election campaigns. They reach out to us as the grassroots party to mobilize action.

Elected Officials Contact Information:



Congressional District 2 Congressman Cliff Bentz


State Senator District 30
Lynn P. Findley
Capitol Phone: 503-986-1730
Capitol Address: 900 Court St. NE, S-403, Salem, Oregon 97301
Email: Sen.LynnFindley@oregonlegislature.gov
Website: https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/findley

State Senator District 29
Bill Hansell
Capitol Phone: 503-986-1729
Capitol Address: 900 Court St. NE, S-415, Salem, Oregon 97301
Email: Sen.BillHansell@oregonlegislature.gov

State Representative District 59
Daniel Bonham
Capitol Phone: 503-986-1459
Capitol Address: 900 Court St. NE, H-483, Salem, Oregon 97301
Email: Rep.DanielBonham@oregonlegislature.gov

State Representative District 57
Greg Smith
Capitol Phone: 503-986-1457 District Phone: 541-676-5154
Capitol Address: 900 Court St. NE, H-482, Salem, Oregon 97301
District Address: P.O. Box 219 Heppner, Oregon 97836
Email: rep.gregsmith@oregonlegislature.gov
Website: https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/smithg

Wasco County Commissioners

Steve Kramer, Commissioner
(Term: Jan. 1, 2017 – Dec. 31, 2020)
Phone: (541) 506-2524
Cell: (541) 993-2051
Email: SteveK@co.wasco.or.us

Scott Hege, County Commission Chair
(Term: Jan. 7, 2019 – Dec. 31, 2022)
Phone: (541) 506-2522
Cell: (541) 288-1616
Email: ScottH@co.wasco.or.us

The Dalles City Council

Councilor At Large
Rod Runyon
Year term, expires 12/31/20
Phone: 541-993-6413
Email: rrunyon@ci.the-dalles.or.us

Councilor, Position #1
Timothy McGlothlin
Year term, expires 12/31/22
Phone: 541-980-4051
Email: mcglothlin@ci.the-dalles.or.us

Councilor, Position #3
Scott Randalls
Year term, expires 12/31/22
Phone: 541-965-31954
Email: randall@ci.the-dalles.or.us